Iowa OWI/DUI Penalties

In Iowa, a person's first and second convictions for OWI/DUI are misdemeanors, while a third conviction within 12 years is a felony. Because penalties escalate with each subsequent offense, it is important to obtain skilled legal representation the first time you are charged with an alcohol-related offense. An experienced OWI/DUI defense lawyer may be able to negotiate a plea bargain, minimize your penalties or get the charges dropped in some situations.

Attorney J. Dean Keegan is a former probation officer and chemical dependency counselor who understands how OWI/DUI penalties affect clients' lives. Attorney Thomas D.S. Farnsworth's experience as a prosecuting legal intern showed him how prosecutors approach OWI/DUI cases and his work with the Department of Corrections provided insight into procedures to secure a defendant's freedom while a case is pending.

To vigorously defend yourself against a first or second OWI/DUI charge, call 319-887-6900 to schedule a free initial consultation with one of our drunk driving defense attorneys.

Penalties For First Iowa OWI Offense

The first time you are convicted of OWI/DUI, you face a minimum of 48 hours in jail with a possible maximum sentence of one year. Fines could reach $1,250. The court may also require a substance abuse evaluation and treatment program, community service and a driver's education course.

Your license may be revoked for 180 days, though you may be able to apply for a restricted license. If your BAC was above .10 at the time of arrest, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. If your BAC was above .15, you must wait 30 days before obtaining a restricted license.

Therefore, it is important that you challenge the loss of your license within 10 days of revocation. Mr. Keegan and Mr. Farnsworth can keep you driving pending the appeal.

Penalties For Second Iowa OWI Offense

If you are convicted of OWI/DUI for a second time, you face seven day sin jail and up to two years in prison. Fines could total several thousand dollars and your license will be revoked for two years. Other penalties the court may order include vehicle impoundment, substance abuse evaluation and treatment, community service and a driver's education course.

Furthermore, you may be forced to wait a full year before you are eligible for a restricted license and an ignition interlock device. For this reason, it's important to challenge your arrest and license revocation — something Mr. Keegan and Mr. Farnsworth can help you with so that you can keep driving while your case is pending.

Contact Us To Consult With A Lawyer

OWI/DUI penalties increase with each conviction, so effectively defending yourself the first time is important. Call 319-887-6900 or email us to schedule a meeting with an Iowa City attorney who can make a difference in your case. We accept payments by cash, check and credit cards.