Eastern Iowa Criminal Defense Attorneys
Back to Top

What Are the Consequences of Not Registering as a Sex Offender?

In Iowa, a person must register as a sex offender if they are convicted of certain sex crimes. Under the law, registration requirements apply to an individual who was found guilty, plead guilty, or adjudicated delinquent committing, conspiring to commit, or attempting to commit such an offense, whether it was a felony or misdemeanor.

Information Required to Report

A person required to register must report to the sheriff’s office in the county they live, work, or attend school, on a specified date. If they have multiple residences in the state, they must verify their information at the sheriff’s department in each county they live in and provide the dates they will be at each residence. The person must report any updates to their residency or employment within 5 days of the change. In addition, because of recent changes to the law, the individual is also required to report social media identities when they provide information to the Sheriff’s Office.

Frequency and Length of Reporting

The state has 3 sex offender Tier Levels that are based on the type of offense committed, and they establish how often a person is required to go in person to a sheriff’s department to submit their information.

The number of times an individual must verify their information is as follows:

  • Tier I: Every 12 months
  • Tier II: Every 6 months
  • Tier III: Every 3 months

Depending on the type of offense committed and whether the person has any prior convictions, they must comply with requirements for 10 years to life. Additionally, they are required to continue to register according to their tier level even if their conviction is later expunged.

Consequences of Not Reporting

The first time a person fails to comply with registration requirements, they will be charged with an aggravated misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 2 years in jail and up to $6,250 in fines. The second time the individual fails to report, they face a class D felony charge. Penalties for this offense include up to 5 years in prison and up to $7,500 in fines. In addition to conviction penalties, they may also be required to register for another 10 years.

Schedule a Free Consultation with Keegan, Tindal & Mason

The consequences of a sex crime conviction are serious and could affect you for the rest of your life. If you’ve been charged with an offense, it is crucial to have a skilled attorney on your side to fight allegations and protect your rights. Our lawyers are committed to providing the effective counsel you need. We will work toward getting charges dismissed or dropped to minimize the effects of a conviction on your life.

Backed by over 50 years of combined trial experience, we know what it takes to win cases. Call us today at (319) 499-5524 or contact us online.