Aggressive, Skillful and Experienced Defense

Fighting shoplifting charges in Iowa

Being arrested for shoplifting is embarrassing and humiliating. This is particularly true if people didn't intend to steal anything from the store where they were arrested. Fortunately, there are ways to fight shoplifting charges.

In Iowa, shoplifting is charged under the state's general theft statute. The degree of a theft charge in Iowa depends on the value of the items allegedly stolen. In most shoplifting cases, the value of the property at issue will result in a charge of fifth or fourth degree theft. Fifth degree theft is defined as the theft of property worth $200 or less. It is a simple misdemeanor; a conviction can result in a fine between $65 and $625 and a jail sentence of up to 30 days.

The theft of property worth over $200 but not over $500 is fourth degree theft, a serious misdemeanor. The potential fines range from $315 to $1,000 and the court may also impose a jail sentence of up to one year. If the property in question is valued at over $500, more serious charges, including felony charges, can apply.

In any theft case the prosecution must prove criminal intent. If a person leaves a store and forgets to pay for an item, there is no intent and the court may drop the charges.

Prosecutors in shoplifting cases often rely on store employees to provide eyewitness testimony. These employees are not trained law enforcement officers. They may not have had an unobstructed view of what happened, and they may have jumped to mistaken conclusions about a customer's behavior. An experienced criminal defense lawyer can highlight the weaknesses in their testimony on cross-examination.

Source: Iowa Code ยง 714.2, accessed Nov. 5, 2016

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

contact us FOR a Free Consultation

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

IOWA Association for justice IOWA state bar association NACDL 1958 national association of criminal defense lawyers american association for justice board certified specialist DUI defense law the iowa state bar association


Should I take a breath test?
The most common question asked of criminal defense lawyers who work on Operating While Intoxicated (OWI) or Driving While...

Can I get a work permit or temporary restricted license in Iowa after losing my driving privileges for an OWI?
For a first offense, yes. The revocation is this instance is 180 days for an OWI test failure and one year for an OWI test refusal...

Read More

Get In Touch

J. Dean Keegan, Eric D. Tindal & Andrea Mason Attorneys At Law
425 2nd Street South East, Suite 1250
Cedar Rapids, IA 52406

Cedar Rapids Law Office Map

J. Dean Keegan, Eric D. Tindal & Andrea Mason Attorneys At Law
103 East College Street, Suite 312
Iowa City, IA 52240

Iowa City Law Office Map

facebook twitter

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.