In Iowa, there are strict laws and penalties intended to prevent and discourage people from driving while under the influence or operating while intoxicated, also known as OWI. In the state, you are guilty of OWI if your blood alcohol content exceeds 0.08 percent. You are also guilty of OWI if you have any amount of a controlled substance while on the roads.
Iowa has an implied consent law, which means that if you are pulled over or suspected of OWI, you agree to have a breath, urine, or blood test to determine your level of intoxication. If guilty, a driver is subject to various fines and penalties.
Your license will be revoked for a period of 180 days. A second offense will result in a loss of license for one year. A third offense will result in a loss of license of 6 years. There are also various fines as well as the possibility of prison time and an ignition interlock device requirement for certain offenses.
Since 1992, J. Dean Keegan, Eric D. Tindal & Andrea Jaeger Attorneys At Law have been working hard to protect the rights of individuals with OWI/DUI offenses. Our firm will thoroughly examine details of your case such as police reports and possible videos looking for the best way to defend your case. If your rights were violated or if proper procedures were not followed, you may have a strong defense to prevent a conviction.
An OWI conviction can lead to serious ramifications that may affect your life for years. It's important to have a strong defense, and seeking representation from law professionals familiar with the laws may be the key to a dismissal or reduction of charges.
Source: iowadot.gov, "Iowa OWI (operating while intoxicated)", Accessed July 14, 2015.